Data analysis methodology to make time work for you
We've defined before, "what the law of timekeeping is." It is a "method of actively controlling the flow of time and achieving goals by recording time." So all the data exporting, organizing, templating, etc. that we have done before are actually prepared for "proactive control and goal achievement".
When we have the data, we also need to learn how to make guesses about the data we already have and validate them with actions, only a combination of data thinking and action can help you reach your goals.
So, data methodology, in a nutshell, is five steps: get data → process data → visualize → make guesses → verify. Repeat the cycle.
  • 1) Access to data
When we export data from TimeTrack, we make sure that the data does not overlap, i.e. "up to 24 hours a day", there is no overlap time.
Then, even if there are groups, we don't check the "Show separate groups in CSV report" in the settings, because the data will be interrupted when exporting the data, and you need to manually modify the proportional data and increase the workload.
No clusters in the figure above, "Cluster A" in the figure below
2) Data processing
We need to make additions (e.g., additional notes), deletions (e.g., deletion of the first data entry at the beginning of the month), and corrections (e.g., correction of the "other" classification) to the exported data before it can be officially deposited in the source data table.
3) Data visualization
We created pivot tables and pivot views, coupled with conditional formatting, to allow us to see changes in the data at a glance.
(4) Speculation
We make "self-righteous" guesses by looking at data comparisons, trends, peaks, and outliers.
5) Verified Conjecture
With real data, we can use data pivot tables to discover the difference between imagined and actual data.
For example, "I thought I got a higher salary when I changed jobs", but an actual analysis of the data found that "the hourly wage decreased after changing jobs"; "I thought I was studying after work", but an actual analysis of the data found that "all activities after work are 'entertainment'", etc.
This data analysis methodology has slowly helped me to develop data thinking, what is data thinking?
Let me give you a common example from life, if someone asks.
"What's the point of reading a book and forgetting it?"
The same goes for the recorded data, if you simply save the data and keep repeating the "get - process - visualize", it will not help you in any substantial way except to look at the data and get high.
You have to get out of this cycle, and don't forget that you now have an advantage that most people don't have, and whatever it is, you can at least measure it in terms of "time", and time can work for you.
For example, we're looking at a goal and A says, "I'm going to read 100 books this year".
What does this phrase mean in terms of time?
We opened the time data, sifted through the "reading" data for the past year in the monthly pivot table, selected all the reading time, to see how long it took to read a book myself, and my answer was 2.5 hours/book (including books that were flipped and not read).
That means "I'll read 100 books this year" means 100*2.5 = 250 hours this year, an average of 0.7 hours and 42 minutes per day. It can be done if nothing goes wrong.
Suppose we see another sentence where B says, "I can only see 50 movies this year at most".
We sifted through the "entertainment" data and located (movies with "@" tags) all the movies and found that I watched 235 dramas last year (movies + variety + documentaries, with movies accounting for about 80% of the total), of which there were about 188 movies, which took an average of 1.7 hours each.
In quantitative terms, "only 50 movies" B is likely to fail, since this goal is already 30% too high (180-180*0.3=126), so it is an unreasonable goal for B.
Did you find it?
The ability to "figure out if a certain descriptive phrase makes sense" based on your historical time data is so important!
Most people don't have this ability because they don't have a reference to historical data that they have time to record, they don't know how many books they read in a year and how much time they spend at work or sleeping.
This kind of "make time work for me" thinking is to quantify the problems in our lives with time and then replace them with familiar indicators that are more conducive to achieving our goals. Of course, you can estimate the data, but you know how unreliable the "feeling" is when you've logged your time, and even less reliable the predictions you get.
Once you have mastered the methodology of data analysis and the data mindset that "you can measure everything with time data", you need to look at the data from more of a perspective. So what are some of the perspectives we are looking at when analyzing the data?
复制链接

33.数据分析方法论,让时间为你所用
获取数据→处理数据→可视化→提出猜测→验证
我们之前定义过,“时间记录法是什么”。它是一种“通过记录时间来主动控制时间流向,达成目标的方法。”那么我们之前所做的数据导出,整理,模板化等等,其实都是为了“主动控制,达成目标”而准备的。
当我们有了数据之后,还需要学会怎样通过对已有的数据提出猜想,并且用行动来验证,只有数据思考和行动的结合,才能帮你达成目标。
所以,数据方法论,概括来说就是五个步骤:获取数据→处理数据→可视化→提出猜测→验证。
反复循环。
  • 1)获取数据
我们从aTimeLogger中导出数据时,要保证数据不重合,也就是“一天最多24小时”,不存在重合时间。
然后,即便是有群组,但是我们在设置中不勾选“在CSV报告中单独分组显示”,因为导出数据时会打断数据,需要手动修改占比数据,增加工作量。
上图无群组,下图群组为“群组A”
  • 2)处理数据
我们需要对导出的数据进行增补(如补全备注)、删减(如删除月初第一条数据)、修正(如修正“其他”归类),才能正式存入源数据表。
  • 3)数据可视化
我们创建了透视表和透视图,再加上条件格式,方便我们一眼看出数据的变化。
  • 4)提出猜测
我们通过观察数据对比、趋势、峰值、异常值,提出“自以为”的猜想。
  • 5)验证猜测
有了真实数据后,我们可以通过数据透视表,发现想象和实际数据的差异。
比如“我以为我换了一份工作后,工资更高了”,结果实际分析数据发现“换工作后时薪降低了”;“我以为我下班之后都在学习”,结果实际分析数据发现“下班之后的活动项都是‘娱乐’”等等。
这种数据分析方法论慢慢帮我养成了数据思维,什么是数据思维?
我来举一个生活中常见的例子,假如有人问:
“书读完了就忘,有什么用呢?”
记录的数据也一样,如果你只是单纯的攒数据,不断重复“获取-处理-可视化”,除了让你看这数据自嗨,是没有任何实质性帮助的。
你要跳脱这个循环,别忘了你现在已经有了大部分人不具备的优势,不管是任何事,你至少可以用“时间”这个量级来衡量它,时间可以为你所用。
比如我们现在看到一个目标,A说“我今年要看100本书”。
请问从时间角度衡量,这句话代表什么意思?
我们打开时间数据,在月透视表筛选过去一年的“读书”数据,全选读书时间,看自己看一本书需要花费多久,我的答案是2.5小时/本(包括翻了一下就没看的书)。
也就是说“我今年要看100本书”对我来说,意味着今年要花100*2.5=250小时,平均每天0.7小时,42分钟,再对比我去年读书花费的284小时,我能完成吗?不出意外的话没问题。
假设我们又看到一句话,B说“我今年最多只能看50部电影”。
我们筛选“娱乐”数据,定位(电影带有“@”标记)所有电影,得出我去年看了235部影视剧(电影+综艺+纪录片,电影占比约80%),其中电影约188部,平均每个影视剧耗费1.7小时。
从数量上看,“只看50部电影”B大概率完不成,因为这个目标已经超出30%太多(180-180*0.3=126),所以这对B来说就大概率是个不合理的目标。
发现了吗?
你可以根据你的历史时间数据,“判断出某一句描述性的话是不是合理”,这个能力太重要了!
大多数人不具备这种能力,因为他们没有时间记录的历史数据参考,他们不知道自己一年读过多少本书用了多久,也不知道自己在工作或者睡觉上花了多少时间。
这种“让时间为我所用”的思维,就是把我们生活中的问题用时间量化,然后再用我们熟悉的指标代替,更有利于我们达成目标。当然,这些数据你也可以估算,但是你记录过自己的时间就知道,“凭感觉”有多不靠谱,得到的预测就更不靠谱了。
当你掌握了数据分析的方法论,也有了“可以用时间数据衡量一切”的数据思维之后,你就需要更多观察数据的角度了。那么我们在分析数据时,有哪些观察的角度呢?
复制链接